Pachinko
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Grand Central Publishing, 2017.
Edition
First edition.
Physical Desc
490 pages ; 24 cm
Status
Main Level - Fiction  1 available
FIC LEE, MIN

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Main Level - FictionFIC LEE, MINOn Shelf

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
Book
Language
English
ISBN
9781455563937, 1455563935

Notes

Description
"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--,Provided by publisher.
Description
In early 1900s Korea, Sunja is the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family. Her unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. Caught in the indifferent arc of history, through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, Sunja's family members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.

Other Possible Items

Loading more titles like this title...

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Lee, M. J. (2017). Pachinko (First edition.). Grand Central Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Lee, Min Jin. 2017. Pachinko. New York: Grand Central Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Lee, Min Jin. Pachinko New York: Grand Central Publishing, 2017.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Lee, Min Jin. Pachinko First edition., Grand Central Publishing, 2017.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.